Ashok Lahiri’s seat goes to a local, more BJP leading guns to contest;

Simply five days after it revealed the candidature of former chief economic consultant Ashok Lahiri for Alipurduar in North Bengal, the BJP launched another list on Thursday choosing the district’s party general secretary Suman Kanjilal from the same seat. It also revealed the names of 156 candidates who will contest from different seats in the fourth, fifth and sixth stages of polls.Lahiri informed ET that he was not familiar with the modification. A senior BJP leader said Lahiri’s name is being thought about for some other seat as there are “caste and identity aspects” in ST-dominated Alipurduar and the choice was taken considering the disappointment expressed by the regional unit in fielding an ‘outsider’.”He might be fielded from. The celebration has huge plans for him due to the fact that they want to utilize his services after the government is formed. We want to send out across a message that for North Bengal, we are bringing a person with a vision for development,” the leader said.Chandima Roy, spouse of BJP MLA Debendra Nath Roy who was discovered hanging, and who had actually submitted a writ petition prior to Calcutta High Court on Thursday seeking a CBI query into his death has actually been fielded from Hemtabad, her late hubby’s constituency. Defectors from TMC to the BJP—- Sabyasachi Dutta, Biswajit Kundu, Saikat Panja, Silbhadra Dutta, Mihir Goswami and Vaishali Dalmiya—- got renominated from their seats.Actor Srabanti Chatterjee will take on TMC minister Partha Chatterjee in Behala west.The celebration has fielded Anirban Ganguly, director of BJP’s think-tank, Syama Prasad Mookerjee Research Structure, Bolpur, understood for Vishva Bharati, the university established by Rabindranath Tagore. Bolpur falls in Birbhum—- an extremely political district presumably under the control of TMC’s district president Anubrata Mondal.BJP nationwide vice-president Mukul Roy, who was once a key TMC leader and has actually been preparing the BJP’s growth drive in Bengal, will contest from Krishnanagar Uttar seat. His son Shubrangshu Roy will contest from Binpur, while BJP MP Arjun Singh’s boy Pawan Singh has actually been renominated to Bhatpara.Party sources stated Mukul Roy was not too keen on contesting the election but had to step in considering the high-stakes battle. Roy had actually last contested surveys in 2001, unsuccessfully, however has actually been a backroom strategist for both parties.Mafuja Khatin, the female Muslim face of the celebration in West Bengal and a two-time MLA from CPI(M) who signed up with the BJP in 2017, will contest from Sagardighi. The party has actually fielded 7 minority prospects in these 2 stages. It has fielded its Mahila Morcha president Agnimitra Paul from Asansol (South). The other popular faces consist of BJP leaders Rahul Sinha, Asim Sarkar and Samik Bhattacharya.One of the prospects, Sikha Mitra, partner of the late Congress leader Somen Mitra, however, stated her name was revealed from Chowringhee, without her approval and she will not get in the survey fray. Mitra minimized speculations of her joining the BJP that were doing rounds after she satisfied BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari. Similarly, Tarun Saha, hubby of TMC prospect Mala Saha, who was named as the celebration’s prospect from Kolkata’s Kashipur-Belgachhia seat stated he was not contesting elections.BJP’s co-incharge for the State Arvind Menon informed ET that winnability was the only factor thought about for the selection of the prospects, and it was teamwork that finalised the candidates. “The organisation is what matters, and not the individuals. We have actually been communicating this to our cadre from time to time. Today, we all need to work as one. We have actually picked prospects from various strolls of life to be able to deal with issues of every kind that is essential in a society.”The BJP has actually fielded a lawyer at the Kolkata High Court Loknath Chatterjee to contest against TMC senior minister Subrata Mukherjee and previous Indian football group captain Kalyan Chaubey from Maniktala against TMC minister Sadhan Pandey. It has chosen Sreerupa Mitra Chaudhary, a social activist who chaired the UPA’s committee to manage rapes, trafficking and sexual violence, after the Nirbahaya gangrape case in 2012, to eliminate from English Fete in Malda against three-time MLA and previous minister Krishnendu Narayan Choudhury.Former TMC MLA Jitendra Tiwari whose defection to the BJP was objected to by senior leaders such as Dilip Ghosh and Babul Ghosh previously, was renominated from Parbandeshwar. The party has fielded previous journalist Sanmoy Bandopadhyay, formerly with the Congress from Panihati in North 24 Parganas, against two-time MLA Nirmal Ghosh. In Barabani in Paschim Bardhaman that has actually seen many incidents of political violence in the last 3 years, the BJP has actually chosen its Asansol yuva morcha president, 29 year old Arijit Roy to contest versus Bidhan Upadhyay, a two-time MLA and kid of 3 term MLA Manik Upadhyay.Former IT and social media consultant to CM Mamata Banerjee, Diptansu Choudhary, who gave up the TMC along with Suvendu Adhikari last December has been fielded from Durgapur Purba and the party’s district president Lakshman Ghorai from Durgapur west, and Gobardhan Das, a professor of molecular Medicine at JNU has been fielded for Purbasthali (South). Ranaghat MP Jagannath Sarkar, stars Rudranil Ghosh and Tanushree Chakraborty have likewise made it to the list.To contest versus CPI(M)’s Aishe Ghosh, an SFI leader from JNU who was hurt in an attack on the JNU school and TMC’s Hareram Singh in Jamuria, a leader with a background in trade unions, the BJP has actually fielded previous district president of Jamuria, Tapash Roy, a retired government employee and an RSS swayamsevak who has been a celebration’s observer for Bankura and numerous other districts.

Please follow and like us:

Check Also

White Home: Intel on Russian ‘bounties’ on United States soldiers shaky

The White Home stated Thursday that the intelligence neighborhood does not have definitive evidence that …